Need to lean in

First read Evelyn’s post a few months back and now glad to discover that she has completed and got her doctoral title already! Reading her blog (again) today to give myself a bit of push – have been very unproductive lately on my DBA study due to other life things happening… Feel very guilty about my current status. Need to lean in more seriously. I’ll do a few things as she advised, to unplug the Internet, decline all offers of social activity, focus, focus, focus, and put more time, time, time. I really need to make some good progress in methodology in September. Well, have to stop talking and get back to study now.

2 thoughts on “Need to lean in

  1. Angelina, I hear and relate to your back-log…I regularly am going through it…In fact this morning a good friend of mine from Paris rang for a friendly update and when I told him about my feelings about mw inadequate I was feeling with my progress with the Ph.D. (I) program he suggested when I am tired or need to ‘focus’ I should take a shower! In regards to only focus and accounting for every second so to speak…I feel a bit of scheduled entertainment and rest is very very important too! Best! Indrani

    • Indrani, so glad you do read my blog and provide much-needed spiritual support! My study was interrupted by a few things – firstly for the whole August, except for attending the HDR conference, I did not put any time into study because of having relatives from overseas staying with me; then after getting into the month of September, I was doing a bit of job hunting – being tired of my idle, ineffecient status, however that seems to take up too much of time such as reading and searching in order to prepare for possible interviews… I was deeply disappointed at myself for being unproductive…I do find it is very hard to force myself to sit down and write – usually I just end up reading again, not writing anything…Thanks for your kind advice. I know I need a bit of motivation and willpower at the moment. Bascially since I passed the research proposal audit a couple of months ago, I seemed to have relaxed too much. Glad to have you on the same journey and appreciate your encouragement very much. Thanks!

Leave a comment