my methodology puzzle

Yesterday I had a discussion with my supervisor regarding my research design. It evolved in the end that a small quantitative part was suggested to be included, in addition to the main qualitative interviews. So I am a bit stressed now of re-designing the research method. I sat in front of the computer for a long time today but felt not knowing where exactly to start. My supervisor suggested me not to mention generalisation, not to mention interpretivism and not to mention research philosophy at all, instead to borrow ideas from these concepts just without labelling them explicitly. Maybe I should start simple, then expand and elaborate. I’m so afraid that I would waste time by going the wrong direction. It seems I should use interviews for the work-life balance side and use some questionnaire for the work values side. Can I converge them logically? Does that mean I need to apply both quan and qual analysis techniques, and also using both SPSS and Nvivo? I came across an article by Andrew, Salamonson and Halcomb (2008), ‘Integrating mixed methods data analysis using NVivo: An example examining attrition and persistence of nursing students’, International Journal of Multiple Research Approaches, vol. 2, no. 1, pp. 36–43. Maybe that would give me some idea of how to integrate and present both quan and qual data? Meanwhile I feel I also need to find some articles with a work values focus to help my design of the quan questionnaire. I really need to make some real progress on the methodology chapter during this month.

Leave a comment